The NAR is dominated by two major geological regions; the Yilgarn Craton and the Perth Basin separated by the Darling Fault, which runs up the middle of the region. To the north of the region where the Perth Basin forks, lies the Southern Carnarvon Basin and the Northamton Complex.

These major geological regions are further subdivided into their constituent units and bedrock geology. This is shown in the map below. Additional geology layers can be turned on and viewed in the full page map.

Image Map


Geoheritage sites comprise those elements of the Earth’s geodiversity that are considered to have significant scientific, educational, cultural or aesthetic value (IUCN, 2014). The NAR is home to twenty such sites, one of which is the Pinnacles. Check out the map below to find the rest.

Click features on the map for more information. View full page map

Data courtesy of the Geological Survey of Western Australia, Department of Mines and Petroleum. © State of Western Australia 2013.