Conservation Significant Ecological Communities

Threatened Ecological Communities

Since European settlement, enormous strain has been place upon the unique bush, wetlands and other habitats within Australia. The rapidly expanding population further adds pressure to many ecological communities and some now face extinction.

Threats include: clearing of native vegetation, inappropriate fire regimes, pests, climate change, changes in hydrology, pollution, and urban development.

In Australia three categories exist for the listing of threatened ecological communities (TECs) under the EPBC Act:

  1. critically endangered,
  2. endangered, and
  3. vulnerable (DotE, 2014).

Within Western Australia, a number of communities have been informally listed as Threatened Ecological Communities on the TEC database (DPaW, 2014). A total of 32 TECs have been identified within the Northern Agriculture Region.

For more information on these categories see ‘How does an ecological community become listed as threatened?’ or for a list of TECs see ‘TECs endorsed by the WA minister for the Environment list’.

A total of 32 threatened ecological communities have been identified within the Northern Agriculture Region.

Priority Ecological Communities

Where a ecological community is considered to be under threat and there is limited information available, they are allocated with a priority level. This type of community is classified as a Priority Ecological Community (PECs) (DPAW, 2014). A total of 51 PECs have been identified within the Northern Agriculture Region. To see a list of PECs see ‘Priority Ecological Communities for Western Australia’.

Click features on the map and expand the legend for more information. View full page map
Data sourced from Landgate Locate, DPaW, DAFWA, WWF and DoW.